ABOUT THE GALLERY

Jack Shainman Gallery was founded in 1984 in Washington, DC, by Jack Shainman and Claude Simard. Soon after opening, the gallery relocated to New York City occupying a space in the East Village before moving to 560 Broadway in Soho and then to its current location at 513 West 20th Street in Chelsea in 1997. In 2013 the gallery added two additional exhibition spaces, one in Chelsea at 524 West 24th Street, the other a 30,000 square foot schoolhouse in Kinderhook, New York.
The focus of the gallery since its inception has been to exhibit, represent and champion artists from around the world, in particular artists from Africa, East Asia, and North America, by mounting major exhibitions of their work in the gallery, presenting artworks at important fairs, securing museum exhibitions and publishing major catalogues and scholarly essays. The gallery is a member of the Art Dealers Association of America and presents approximately twelve exhibitions a year, as well as participating in major art fairs including Art Basel Miami Beach, The Armory Show, and Frieze New York. 
Gallery artists have been included in many important exhibitions, such as Documenta (1992, 1997, 2002, 2007); The Venice Biennale (1990, 1995, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2011, 2013); The Paris Triennial (2012); The Carnegie International (1989, 1999/2000); the Moscow Biennale (2005, 2009); The Gwangju Biennale (2000, 2004, 2008); The Havana Biennale (2009); The Johannesburg Biennale (2005); and the Whitney Biennale (1997, 2006). Gallery artists have been recognized with numerous awards, including a Leonore Annenberg Fellowship, a Ford Foundation Grant, a Fulbright Scholarship, four John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellowships, two MacArthur Foundation Grants, five Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation Awards, six Joan Mitchell Foundation Grants, a US Department of State’s Medal of Arts, and the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement Award, and have been documented in countless publications, monographs, and films.
Gallery artists are included in numerous public collections worldwide, including the Museum of Modern Art, New York; the Tate Modern, London; Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris; the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York; the Victoria and Albert Museum, London; Museo Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid; Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles; Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; the National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.; Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, Bentonville, Arkansas; the British Museum, London; the National Gallery of Canada, and the Museum of Modern Art, Vienna.

 Claude.jpg

 

Address and hours
513 West 20th Street, New York, NY 10011
tel. +1 212 645 1701 fax. +1 212 645 8316
Tuesday-Saturday, 10am-6pm


View Larger Map
 
524 West 24th Street, New York, NY 10011
tel. +1 212 337 3372 fax. +1 212 645 8316
Tuesday-Saturday, 10am-6pm


View Larger Map
 
25 Broad Street, Kinderhook, NY 12106
tel. +1 212 645 1701 fax. +1 212 645 8316
Gallery hours: Saturdays from 11am-5pm and by appointment. 


View Larger Map


For more info, email:
info@jackshainman.com
 


Jack Shainman

Tamsen Greene
Director
tamsen@jackshainman.com

Joeonna Bellorado-Samuels
Associate Director
joeonna@jackshainman.com

Elisabeth Sann
Associate Director
elisabeth@jackshainman.com

Jess Pillar
Associate
jess@jackshainman.com

Chelsea Gifford
Registrar
chelsea@jackshainman.com

Daniel Tsai
Archivist
daniel@jackshainman.com

Devan Owens
Gallery Assistant
devan@jackshainmancom

Zoe Stal
Executive Assistant to Jack Shainman
zoe@jackshainman.com

Brian McCamley
Production Manager
brian@jackshainman.com
 
Jeremy Kaplan
Operations Director
jeremy@jackshainman.com

Bill Trachet
Preparator
bill@jackshainman.com

Chris Davison
Operations Manager, The School
chris@jackshainman.com

 

Subscribe to our
Gallery Updates