ABOUT THE GALLERY

Jack Shainman Gallery was founded in 1984 in Washington, DC, by Jack Shainman and Claude Simard. Soon after opening, the gallery relocated to New York City occupying a space in the East Village before moving to 560 Broadway in Soho and then to its current location at 513 West 20th Street in Chelsea in 1997. In 2013 the gallery added two additional exhibition spaces, one in Chelsea at 524 West 24th Street, the other a 30,000 square foot schoolhouse in Kinderhook, New York.
The focus of the gallery since its inception has been to exhibit, represent and champion artists from around the world, in particular artists from Africa, East Asia, and North America, by mounting major exhibitions of their work in the gallery, presenting artworks at important fairs, securing museum exhibitions and publishing major catalogues and scholarly essays. The gallery is a member of the Art Dealers Association of America and presents approximately twelve exhibitions a year, as well as participating in major art fairs including Art Basel Miami Beach, The Armory Show, Frieze New York, Art Basel, and Frieze London. 
Gallery artists have been included in many important exhibitions, such as Documenta (1992, 1997, 2002, 2007); The Venice Biennale (1990, 1995, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2011, 2013); The Paris Triennial (2012); The Carnegie International (1989, 1999/2000); the Moscow Biennale (2005, 2009); The Gwangju Biennale (2000, 2004, 2008); The Havana Biennale (2009); The Johannesburg Biennale (2005); and the Whitney Biennale (1997, 2006). Gallery artists have been recognized with numerous awards, including a Leonore Annenberg Fellowship, a Ford Foundation Grant, a Fulbright Scholarship, four John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellowships, two MacArthur Foundation Grants, five Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation Awards, six Joan Mitchell Foundation Grants, a US Department of State’s Medal of Arts, and the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement Award, and have been documented in countless publications, monographs, and films.
Gallery artists are included in numerous public collections worldwide, including the Museum of Modern Art, New York; the Tate Modern, London; Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris; the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York; the Victoria and Albert Museum, London; Museo Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid; Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles; Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; the National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.; Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, Bentonville, Arkansas; the British Museum, London; the National Gallery of Canada, and the Museum of Modern Art, Vienna.

 Claude.jpg

 
Address and hours
513 West 20th Street, New York, NY 10011
tel. +1 212 645 1701 fax. +1 212 645 8316
Gallery is open Tuesday through Saturday 10:00AM - 6:00PM. 
 
 


View Larger Map
 
524 West 24th Street, New York, NY 10011
tel. +1 212 337 3372 fax. +1 212 645 8316
Gallery is open Tuesday through Saturday 10:00AM - 6:00PM. 
 


View Larger Map
 
25 Broad Street, Kinderhook, NY 12106
tel. +1 518-758-1628  fax. +1 212 645 8316
The School is open Saturdays 11:00AM - 6:00PM and by appointment. 
 

View Larger Map

For more info, email:
info@jackshainman.com
For more info about The School, email: theschool@jackshainman.com
 



Jack Shainman

Jaci Auletto
Executive Assistant to Jack Shainman
jaci@jackshainman.com

Tamsen Greene
Senior Director
tamsen@jackshainman.com

Joeonna Bellorado-Samuels
Director
joeonna@jackshainman.com

Elisabeth Sann
Director
elisabeth@jackshainman.com

Alexandra Giniger
Director of Artist Relations
ali@jackshainman.com

Devan Owens
Artist Liaison
devan@jackshainman.com

Meriwether McClorey
Sales Associate and Artist Liaison
meriwether@jackshainman.com

Ruth Phaneuf
Registrar
ruth@jackshainman.com

Carly Lewis
Shipping Registrar
carly@jackshainman.com

Rebecca Mecklenborg
Archivist
rebecca@jackshainman.com

Santiago Garcia Cano
Gallery Assistant
santiago@jackshainman.com

Calvin Reedy
Gallery Assistant
calvin@jackshainman.com

Jeremy Kaplan
Director of Exhibitions
jeremy@jackshainman.com

Rob Smith
Production Manager
rob@jackshainman.com 

Bill Trachet
Operations Manager
bill@jackshainman.com

Clark Griffin
Operations Manager | The School
clark@jackshainman.com

 

Subscribe to our

Gallery Updates